top of page

Horror Quarter 3, 2021


I caught up with 28 new release horrors between July and September this year. Because of the high-quality horror television that has come out this year, I've begun adding TV shows in addition to films to my lists. See below for my ratings (out of 5) and recommendations:


Fear Street Part One: 1994 3.5

Gaia 3.5

Werewolves Within 3

My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell it To 4

Fear Street Part Two: 1978 2.5

Escape Room: Tournament of Champions 2.5

Fear Street Part Three: 1966 3.5

Too Late 2.5

The Djinn 3

Old 3

Bleed with Me 3.5

Adoration 3.5

The Columnist 4

Blood Red Sky 3

Dementer 1.5

The Night House 4

Candyman 3.5

A Ghost Waits 2

The Oak Room 3.5

Reunion 3

No Man of God 3

Malignant 3

Mosquito State 2.5

Brand New Cherry Flavor 4

Red Dot 3.5

The Last Matinee 4

Superhost 2.5

Midnight Mass 4.5

Evil Season 2 3


Let's get into it, nibblets. The season of leaf death is here, groundhogs are gearing up for hibernation, and I'm using horror content to deal with the impending doom of another Wisconsin winter. In so doing, I've discovered a few horror gems this quarter that need to get a little more love and attention this spooky season.


First up is the Dutch film from Ivo van Aart Der Kuthoer (The Columnist). This one is a black comedy about an author who starts taking the hate she's receiving on social media too seriously and carnage ensues. I love a horror comedy, but what I love more is a multi-layered horror comedy that manages to thoughtfully tell a story about real social issues. Der Kuthoer doesn't attempt to answer any of our burning questions around the ills of social media or the balancing act of free speech, but it uses these ideas in a playful way, which leaves the viewer to decide, should I get a flip phone?


Next is The Night House from David Bruckner, who brought us The Ritual. A stunning Rebecca Hall plays Beth, who is left alone at a large, creepy lakeside house after her husband commits suicide. The Night House plays with our character's and the viewer perceptions of what's happening, and it has a genuinely spooky vibe. Really cool monster, great ending, and an interesting story, although a couple of plot points did make me scratch my head. All in all, this is an excellent lights-out, under-a-blanket horror that'll keep you thinking long after it's finished.


Last, I want to make sure all the slasher fans out there check out Al morir la matinée (The Last Matinee), an Argentinian-Uruguayan film from director Maximiliano Contenti. This one has everything: gumballs, cinema setting, grisly kills, espresso machine, impressive cinematography, and pays tribute to both American slasher films and Italian giallo films. Overall, a surprisingly fun ride. Movies like Al morir la matinée make me nostalgic for the cinema experience, something I fear we may lose in the near future. The remedy: watch more horror films!

If you're looking for recommendations from 2020, take a look back at my top 10 of the year. Additionally, if you're interested in following along with upcoming Horror Quarters, you can do so via Twitter or my blog. You can also follow me on Letterboxd. Enjoy your scare!

Recent Posts

bottom of page