top of page

Top 10 Horror Films of 2020

2020 was a surprisingly rich year for horror. Because of the pandemic and being stuck inside for many months, I was able to catch up with 93 new US horror releases, which is a new record for me! While my top five films were not hard to choose, the bottom five were extremely difficult because of the number of high-quality horrors that were released. Several of the films in my honorable mentions could be swapped into my top ten. That said, my decision came down to the 10 films I connected with most, thought were entertaining, and that I feel excited to recommend to others:

  1. Possessor

  2. Spontaneous

  3. Relic

  4. Sputnik

  5. Sea Fever

  6. His House

  7. Scare Me

  8. Deerskin

  9. Extra Ordinary

  10. Spree

Honorable mentions: Rot, The Dark and The Wicked, Teddy, She Dies Tomorrow, 1 BR, Zombi Child, A Good Woman is Hard to Find, Bulbull, The Vast of Night, Yummy, Koko di koko da, Anything for Jackson, Freaky, The Wolf of Snow Hollow, Death of a Vlogger, The Deeper you Dig, The Lodge, The Invisible Man, Swallow, The Wretched, The Room, The Vast of Night, Blood Quantum, The Beach House, The Deeper You Dig, Host, Amulet, The Stylist, Rent-a Pal, Get Duked!, Dragula: Ressurection, Bad Hair, Uncle Peckerhead, Open 24 Hours


Horror adjacent mentions: Save Yourselves!, Horse Girl, Promising Young Woman

Moving into 2021, I hope to continue my eco-horror marathon. Catch up with that here or follow me on Letterboxd.

Recent Posts

bottom of page